Problems growing my chest!

rydenburns

Trusted Member
Hey Folks,

I've been training off and on for the past 20 years and in that time I've always had a problem growing my chest.. It would be much appreciated if I could get some tips, tricks, and exercises to help me out and see if I can't get this old girl to grow.

Cheers!

If your chest isn't growing more likely than not you are using a weight that is too heavy and in turn using more of your shoulders/triceps to move the weight rather than your chest. I would drop the weight and focus on form.

Shoulder blades pinched back and depressed. DO NOT push the weight up with your hands. Drive through your elbows. Picture driving yourself into the bench away from the weight rather than pushing the weight away from you on presses. If doing a fly, again, bring your elbows together not you hands and dont ever let you hands go inside shoulder width at the top.

Start from scratch with push-ups until you find correct positioning and then add weight. Log your workouts and no matter what get either more reps or more weight than the workout before. If you dont overload progressively then you will only ever get so big and then plateau.

Rememebr if you can't activate a muscle group without weight then you shouldn't be using weight.

I speak from experience and I too at one point in time had a lagging chest and this is what I did to get it big.

Last edited:
Thank you for your advice Novitec, I think you're spot on with to much weight. I'm going to lower the weight work on for and use those tips you have mentioned. Again thanks so much for the advice its is greatly appreciated.

Thank you for your advice Novitec, I think you're spot on with to much weight. I'm going to lower the weight work on for and use those tips you have mentioned. Again thanks so much for the advice its is greatly appreciated.
No problem, anytime!