Did school prepare you for life?

Taureau

Administrator
Did school prepare you for life?

I am asking about the education system not the teachers that have to operate within that system

Nope! A simple thing like negotiating a loan with the bank was trial and error. I’m sure we could all write a short novel on the short comings of our so called education system and from I’m hearing it’s gotten even worse!

School prepared me for school. I would have to say a qualified yes, because I have never stopped learning. Some stuff you just can't learn in school though.

I agree, school prepared me to go to university (sort of)..

part time/ summer jobs prepared me more for life than school did.

Worst part of school was upon leaving high school having next to no exposure to jobs I might be interested in, yet being told I needed to decide what I wanted to do with my life as soon as I graduated.

It wasn't until I was about 28 that I knew what I wanted to do with my life and that is be a wild life biologist. But by the time I was 28 I already had 2 university degrees, 75k in debt for my degrees and I had a full time permenant job in my education field. With my debt and age, I made the adult decision to tough out my career for the sake of my debt and pension.

IMO, It’s all just experiences and it’s on you to glean learnings from each.

Many people focus on the actual content of what you’ll learn but I believe the true value is that it (mostly post secondary) teaches you a way of thinking and analyzing problems.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk