Nursing school

PJ23

Trusted Member
Hey,

Do any of you guys or gals know anyone that's been through nursing school and gotten their LPN? How much did it cost them in student debt and how long until they actually became a nurse? It's something I've been contemplating for a couple months.

Yes ex gf was a nurse. I believe in Ontario it’s about two years of school.

Go and get a trade. No student debt, and there is pretty much always work if you’ll work hard. Plus no midnight shifts wiping bums.

RPN/LPN is two years of college. If you don't have good grades in chemistry and biology from high school, expect to have to do them over. RN is four. If you have college credits in psych or humanities, you may be able to shave a bit off, but not often. The colleges want your money. It's a pretty competitive course, so be prepared for a workload.
I have a friend working on her Masters in Nursing to back up her Masters in Social Work. She couldn't transfer a single credit. My ex-wife is an RPN with many specialties from continuing education. Expect to do that as well if you want to stay competitive. Learn as much as you can about geriatrics because our population is getting older.
I can find out the exact details if you give me some time and remind me frequently.

My daughters a nurse, couldn't pay me enough to do the job. Paramedic on the other hand would be a job worth considering. my 2 cents

My daughters a nurse, couldn't pay me enough to do the job. Paramedic on the other hand would be a job worth considering. my 2 cents

i believe paramedics make very little money in comparison to RN's. I know a few paramedics and most don't last more then 5 years I'm told. Lots of PTSD as well. I'm told lots of paramedics quite and go back and become a nurse.

After I was several years into my career, nursing is something that I think would have better suited me. I also believe if your a big guy your in high demand as a nurse.