New to powerlifting

BClift91

Hello everyone, I am completely new to powerlifting but have been lifting weights for 8 years but more bodybuilding style. I have always tried to get my squat bench and deadlift form in check mostly by watching youtube videos since I dont have anyone to train with who trains seriously... I am starting my first powerlifting program, I got it from Ed Coans book "The Strength Inc Core Manual for Strength Training" I dont know how many people are familiar with the book but it works in 8 week cycles setting new PRs every 8 weeks. I am open to other beginner training programs I am wanting to focus on getting my lifts up and I would also like to get a little heavier my self I am 5'10 191lbs around 12%body fat.

Are all powerlifting competitions in BC drug tested? I tried looking online but never really got a clear answer. Please get back to me with any info thank you everyone

wk1 70% 3 x10

wk2 76% 3 x8

wk3 82% 3 x5

wk4 88% 3 x4

wk5 91% 3 x3

wk6 97% 2 x2

wk 7100% 2 x2

w8 104% 1 x1
New 1RM 1 1

Find a good powerlifting coach
There are many small tweaks to form, and bracing. Also find one that does a lot of assistance exercises and stretching. I’m in my early 40s and I thought I knew a lot until I hired a female powerlifting coach she has done wonders for my lifts and day to day mobility and back issues

thats an excellent idea! thank you for taking the time to reply.
Have you competed?

No I haven’t
I started out 20 years ago with a powerlifter as my training partner
But bodybuilding was more my thing at the time
But lately I have been more interested in strongman and powerlifting

thats awesome sounds like you have lots of experience, are you following a certain program right now? can you recommend any good ones?

thats awesome sounds like you have lots of experience, are you following a certain program right now? can you recommend any good ones?

I have one the coach designed
It’s a lot different than what you posted above