Heavy lifting & joint/tendon damage

Rocky

Trusted Member
Was listening to this video of Milos Sarcev, Dave Palumbo and Tom prince

interestingly they all agree that lifting heavy is a recipe for damaged joints/tendons in the future.

anyone agree with this? I just started lifting heavy again ironically and I may stop after watching this video

Heavy is good.. can be very safe IMO....
but, you have to know your body... keep good form.. don't throw aaround weights you can't handle just for the numbers.

I'm in my 40s now.. I listen to my body... I get really sore elbows and shoulders at times.

I have learned how to lift heavy and not hurt myself. Sometimes that means not doing certain lifts...

For me, I can't do dips any more so I do cable press downs
I do decline bb bench for my heavy lift then either db incline or hammer strength machine incline.
Saves my shoulders.
Also no bb overhead press any more, again db or hammer strength

Just listen to your body... if it hurts don't do it.
Practice de-loading... can't always lift heavy.

Anyways that's my 2cents!

Last edited:
What shocked me was when Tom prince said he has basically 0 cartilage in his shoulders, and like 50% in his knees. He said it was because he always lifted in the 6-8 rep range but didnt mention poundages he lifted.

that being said he was a professional bodybuilder, if working out is just a hobby, it’s not even worth losing 10% of your cartilage in my opinion let alone 50%

I wonder how you’d check that and if it’s reversible to some extent, I’ll ask my doc and see if I can check the health of my cartilage.

I always had joint pains in highschool after working out, when I used gear I had none. Recently I started getting some joint pain after working out when I started lifting heavy with free weights again but I’m also taking medicine that lowers igf-1 which I think is the main cause of the joint pain.